top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMegan Lee

My Journey: How I Stopped Being so Shy


Before my Junior Year of High School, I was incredibly shy. I hated talking to new people, dreaded going to social events, and would always keep a low profile. The amount of panic that I had when my parents would simply tell me to go up to a register at a store and pay for something was terrifying to me. There were also times that I wouldn't speak up when certain occasions called for it. I was never bullied, but I have dealt with flat out- mean people. When you're shy, there's a point where it's just exhausting. I would start to google WikiArticles on "How to Stop Being Shy" or listen to Ted Talks about gaining confidence. I think my parents started to catch that I was trying to be better.


The journey began when my dad signed me up for karate classes. I absolutely hated it. I distinctly remember fighting with my dad and yelling at him that I wanted to quit. The instructor would make us yell or pick someone to loudly read out the rules of the gym. One day he called on me, and I received the awful "I can't hear you, you need to speak up." I hated how he challenged me and always called me out, but today- I am so glad that I continued to go. It really helped me to have a louder voice, but only when someone else asked a question or started a conversation.


Then, I got to High School. I wanted to be a cheerleader, so I worked my butt off. I had never cheered in my life and was competing against all these girls who have cheered since they were kids doing rec. I trained with private cheer instructors and took competitive cheer classes. I ended up with a spot on the team. Cheer helped me overcome being shy by learning how to perform in front of an audience. Doing a routine and yelling cheers while having hundreds of eyes on you was not scary or intimidating anymore. I loved cheering for the games and events. However, I hated the girls. Most of the girls were stuck up and you would have to really fight to "be in their circle." I just didn't have that type of confidence. As a cheer team, we had a lot of events together- including a 3 or 4 day retreat outside of school. I dreaded those things.


One day, one of my High School teachers handed me a card and suggested that I join a leadership club at school. Honestly, I was very surprised because I never considered myself to be a leader. I always assumed you had to be loud and confident for that. I tested the club out and loved it. They also had leadership conferences in the summer time, and I went to it every year. Speakers would talk about making good impressions, qualities that a good leader have, ice breaker games, etc. Being challenged to meet all these new people was so much fun and also easy because everyone there were striving to be leaders, so it was easy to get along. This really helped me to carry conversations and make good/bold impressions when meeting people.


Today, I can admit that I get my shy moments at times, but it's a black and white difference than the type of shy that I was in the past. I cannot tell you how many times I've shot my hands in the air to volunteer at Disney World to dance in the middle of a crowd and on stage. (I was the first volunteer at the Indiana Jones Stunt Show @ Hollywood Studios and had to do my loudest scream- as if I were falling into a pit of snakes- in front of thousands of people) I love going to conferences, doing presentations in front of class, or speaking to an audience. It gives a really fun adrenaline that I enjoy now. When those shy moments come around, I just fake it till I make it. I pretend that I am the most confident person on Earth, and my head starts to believe it.


Sincerely, Megan

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page